Introduction

Soy una white babae (“woman” in Tagalog). I am a Filipina American woman, born in Pensacola, Florida, near the naval base. My husband’s family is from Mexico, and we have two little Chicanitos (Mexican American boys), whom I will one day be brave enough to call Chilipinos (Chicano and Filipino). I am studying U.S. Latina/o Literatures and Cultures at the University of Maryland in College Park, MD, where I have been teaching Spanish language and Latin American literatures and cultures for seven years. English is my native language, but I speak Spanish as well, and I am determined to one day learn Tagalog. I am interested in foreign language pedagogy, technology and the Digital Humanities, women of color feminisms, LGBTQ Studies, Spirituality Studies, Fil Am Literatures and Cultures, Border Studies, and Diaspora Studies, among other things. In my free time I like to dance salsa, merengue, and bachata (although I am also secretly a reggaetonera), listen to music, write (even if it’s only a mental note), and enjoy good food and film (together, if possible). I hope to familiarize myself with new technologies and pedagogical practices through this class, better preparing myself for the increasingly online world of teaching.

About slaphazardly

I'm a graduate student studying U.S. Latin@ Literature. I teach Spanish classes as well. In my free time I take care of my two kids and spend time with my husband. When I should be sleeping or studying, I blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

